WHY A TENNESSEE ONLINE CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT COURSE?
Since laws in Tennessee changed in January 2020 to allow users to take an online handgun carry permit course (instead of an 8-hour, in-person “enhanced” class that is now a separate course), we spent months developing a condensed 2-hour online curriculum that allows for Waypoint Defensive clients to watch and absorb everything they need to know to start a safe, responsible journey into the world of firearms...all from the comfort of their own homes.
You can take the Online Handgun Carry Permit course on your PC, Mac, or mobile device at any time--all you need is a browser. This is especially appealing for responsible citizens who want great information without the stress or inconvenience of classroom lectures, and who value their time and have busy schedules that prevent them from taking an 8-hour in-person class.
WHAT IS COVERED IN THE ONLINE CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT COURSE?
We go over the following, so our students will be armed with as much knowledge and confidence as possible:
1. Firearms Safety Rules
2. Handgun Features and Vocabulary
3. Handgun Uses and Techniques
4. Handgun Knowledge and Skills for Safe Handling
5. Safe Storage of Firearms and Ammunition
6. Safe Transportation and Safe Storage Methods In Vehicles
7. Safe Handgun Cleaning Instruction
8. Current Tennessee Law on Carrying Handguns
9. A Q&A on Additional Tips
WHAT DO I DO AFTER I TAKE THE ONLINE CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT COURSE?
Upon successful completion of the Online Handgun Carry Permit course and online quiz at the end of each of the above sections, you simply print out your official Waypoint Defensive course completion certificate and take it to your nearest DMV along with proof of residency and photo identification. You then pay the state application fee and get fingerprinted, or receive instructions for where to get fingerprinted (which usually only takes a few minutes).
When you pass the state background check, you simply have to wait for approval and then you’ll receive your permit that will allow you to carry a concealed firearm in the state of Tennessee.