Application fee of $100 ($65 if active or honorably discharged military) at DMV after completing Waypoint Defensive in person course.

For the Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit , the application fee is typically $100.  If you are active or honorably discharged from the military, the fee is reduced to $65 for the Enhanced Concealed Carry Permit in Tennessee.

final_5fdf8d4d967db40052e4f616_764771.jp

Allows open or concealed carry

The Tennessee Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit allows for open or concealed carry.  This means that you may have your handgun visible to others or concealed (under a t-shirt or jacket).  We typically do not recommend open carry of a firearm unless the owner has been trained for pistol retention, or has a specific need.  For most all handgun carriers in Tennessee, we recommend concealed carry.  If you'd only like to have the option for concealed carry, a student can save money by getting the Online Concealed Carry Permit.

20201105_114705.jpg

Permits will be issued for eight (8) years.

Just like the Online Concealed Carry Permit, the Enhanced Handgun Permit is valid for 8 years after your application has been approved.  

The permittee shall have the permit in their immediate possession at all times when carrying a handgun and shall display the permit on demand of a law enforcement officer

When you have a Tennessee issued handgun permit, it's very important to keep the physical card in your possession at times.  In the event of a law enforcement interaction, the physical copy of the permit allows officers to know you have successfully completed the state approved education and application process.  Both the Online Concealed Carry Permit and the Enhanced Handgun Permit have a physical card that is mailed to the applicant after approval.  Also, the permits are valid as forms of photo ID!

20190917_163216.jpg

Training Requirements

The Tennessee Enhanced Handgun Permit has far more training requirements than the Online Concealed Carry Permit.  For the Enhanced Handgun Permit, a student is required to attend an in-person course that usually lasts 6-8 hours.  Also the student is required to visit a range so that they can successfully pass a marksmanship exercise.  There is a minimum score that is required on both the written test and shooting test.

All course payments to Waypoint Defensive are non-refundable.

©Waypoint Defensive, LLC